How to Choose the Right Industrial Dolly for Your Operation
- Sections
- 10
- Sub-sections
- 29
- Tables
- 8
- Length
- 7,710 words, 34 min
Key Takeaway: Selecting an industrial dolly means matching six specifications to your actual operating conditions: load capacity with a proper safety margin, wheel material matched to your floor, construction grade matched to usage intensity, dimensions matched to your facility, total cost of ownership rather than purchase price, and any regulatory requirement your industry imposes. Get any one of these wrong and the equipment either fails early or sits unused.
What Drives Selection Decisions: Maximum load weight plus a margin derived from the manufacturer’s own rating basis rather than from a generic multiplier; floor surface type determining wheel material; daily operating hours and load cycles setting the construction grade; aisle width, doorway clearance and turning space setting the dimensions; and industry regulation setting materials and certifications.
Critical Selection Rules:
- Specify capacity from your heaviest load, never your average load
- Match wheel hardness inversely to floor sensitivity, so softer wheels go on delicate floors
- Size the fleet from peak demand and cycle time, not from average daily volume
- Compare total cost over the planning horizon, not purchase price
- Confirm regulatory requirements before finalising any specification
Next Steps: Document your load spectrum, measure your narrowest aisle and tightest turn, identify your floor types, calculate usage intensity, then match specifications to those measurements.
Load Capacity and Safety Margins
Load capacity is the first specification and the one most often set wrong, because the rating on the label describes a condition your operation never actually meets.
A 1,000 lb rated dolly carrying 950 lb is operating close to its threshold before it moves. Once it moves, inertial forces push the effective load higher still. You can exceed the rating without ever adding weight.
Standard capacity categories:
Light-duty, 200 to 500 lb. Office furniture relocation, retail merchandise restocking, light box handling, intermittent use under 2 hours daily, smooth indoor floors only.
Medium-duty, 500 to 1,500 lb. Warehouse stock movement, appliance handling, moderate manufacturing components, regular use of 2 to 6 hours daily, indoor concrete or tile.
Heavy-duty, 1,500 to 5,000 lb. Industrial machinery components, heavy manufacturing materials, pallet loads, continuous use of 6+ hours daily, indoor and covered outdoor areas.
Extra heavy-duty, 5,000 to 60,000 lb. Production equipment relocation, bulk material containers, multi-ton machinery, specialised industrial applications, all terrain including outdoor.
The capacity rating describes performance under the manufacturer’s stated test conditions, which your operation will not match exactly. Real operations therefore need headroom above the working load. How much headroom is the subject of the next section, and it is not a question with one published answer.
Load distribution matters as much as total weight. Capacity ratings assume even weight distribution across the platform. Real loads concentrate weight. A 600 lb machine with 400 lb concentrated in one corner creates localised stress exceeding the distributed capacity limit. Treat concentrated loading as one of the departures from the rating basis that you raise with the manufacturer, because the allowance for it depends on the platform’s construction rather than on a general percentage.
Spec for peak, not average. Your operation moves 400 lb loads 90 percent of the time and 800 lb loads 10 percent of the time? Spec for the 800 lb loads. Undersizing equipment to save money forces workers to make multiple trips, use multiple dollies, or attempt dangerous overloading. The productivity loss and injury risk exceed the equipment cost differential.
Document your load spectrum: minimum weight, typical weight, maximum weight, and the percentage of loads in each band. That data drives every subsequent decision.
How to Size Capacity, and Why There Is No Universal Multiplier
Most buying guides, including earlier versions of this one, hand you a single number: multiply your load by 1.25, or by 1.5, or add 30 percent. That advice is worth less than it looks, and it is worth understanding why before you use anyone’s figure, including ours.
A capacity rating is not a bare number. It is a number attached to a condition set. Manufacturers state the conditions the rating was established under, and those conditions differ between manufacturers and between rating types. Hamilton, for example, defines caster capacity as the maximum recommended load per caster based on intermittent operation over smooth floors at speeds not exceeding 3 mph, with no shock loading and no adverse environmental conditions. Dynamic ratings under the ICWM caster and wheel standard are established by rolling load testing at 3 mph for 8 hours a day. ANSI MH31.1 dynamometer testing runs at 4 mph on a smooth floor. A static rating may be a one-hour compression hold. These are different tests producing different numbers for the same caster.
This is why published multiplier guidance does not agree with itself. Survey what suppliers actually publish and you will find, for the same decision, recommendations to divide by three and add 20 percent, to apply four times the dynamic rating for standard industrial service, to apply 1.5 times for manual pushing on smooth floors rising to 3 times for safety-critical loads, and to add 30 to 40 percent for shock loading. Those are not small disagreements. They span a range of roughly two to eight times for the same cart.
They disagree because a multiplier is only meaningful relative to the condition set the rating came from. A supplier whose rating already assumes smooth floors and no shock needs you to add something for your cracked floor and your dock plate. A supplier whose rating was established under harsher assumptions needs you to add less, and stacking someone else’s multiplier onto their number oversizes the purchase without making it safer.
So the method is this, and it takes one phone call.
- Get the rating basis from the manufacturer you are actually buying from. Ask which test the number came from, at what speed, on what floor, and whether shock loading is included or excluded.
- Write down how your operation departs from that basis. Floor condition, travel speed, thresholds and dock plates, duty cycle, temperature, and whether anything gets dropped onto the platform.
- Ask that manufacturer what their selection method says to do about each departure. They have one, and it is calibrated to their own rating basis rather than to someone else’s.
- Record the margin you ended up with and the reason for it, so the next person to specify equipment inherits the reasoning rather than the number.
The factors you are accounting for are real, even though the multiplier is not universal. Dynamic loads exist: push a loaded dolly from rest and acceleration adds force, and striking a threshold adds considerably more. Load distribution is never the evenly centred arrangement used in capacity testing, and a load with most of its weight on one side concentrates stress well above what distributed testing predicts. Materials degrade, so a platform three years into service does not meet its new-condition rating. Any sizing method has to address all three. What none of them can do is collapse all three into one number that is right for every operation.
One geometric point that changes the arithmetic more than any multiplier. A four-caster cart is commonly sized on the assumption that only three casters carry the load at any moment, because frame flex and uneven floors routinely lift one off the ground. That is a widely used procurement practice rather than a published requirement, but note what it does: dividing by three instead of four raises the per-caster load by 33 percent before any safety factor is applied. If you divide by four and then apply a careful margin, you may still be under-specified relative to a buyer who divided by three and applied nothing.
Never round down. Whatever method you and your supplier settle on, a calculation landing between two standard sizes goes up, not down. Close enough fails when several adverse factors align at once, which is precisely the scenario the margin exists for.
Wheel Material and Floor Type Compatibility
The wheel and floor interface determines equipment lifespan, floor damage risk and operational effort. Incompatible combinations create expensive problems in both directions.
Polyurethane Wheels
- Best for: smooth concrete, polished concrete, tile, epoxy coatings
- Load capacity: 200 to 400 lb per wheel
- Floor protection: excellent, non-marking
- Rolling resistance: low
- Noise: low
- Durability: 5 to 8 years indoor use
- Temperature range: 20°F to 180°F (negative 6°C to 82°C)
- Cost: $15 to $35 per wheel
Polyurethane combines floor protection with easy rolling. The material cushions impacts, preventing floor surface damage while maintaining structural integrity under load. Smooth hard floors gain the most from its non-marking properties and low rolling resistance.
It has limits. Outdoor use degrades polyurethane through UV exposure and temperature cycling. Chemical exposure to oils, solvents and strong acids degrades it. Very rough surfaces such as broken concrete and gravel tear it faster than harder materials.
Hard Plastic Wheels (Nylon, Polyethylene)
- Best for: rough concrete, outdoor asphalt, uneven surfaces
- Load capacity: 150 to 300 lb per wheel
- Floor protection: moderate, may mark soft floors
- Rolling resistance: high
- Noise: medium to high
- Durability: 2 to 4 years moderate use
- Temperature range: negative 20°F to 200°F (negative 29°C to 93°C)
- Cost: $5 to $15 per wheel
Hard plastic withstands abuse better than polyurethane. Rough surfaces, impacts and outdoor conditions don’t degrade it quickly. The trade-off is higher rolling resistance requiring more push force, noise levels that annoy in quiet environments, and marks on softer flooring.
Use hard plastic where durability outweighs convenience, such as loading docks, covered outdoor areas and rough warehouse floors. Not in retail spaces, hospitals or finished office areas.
Pneumatic (Air-Filled) Wheels
- Best for: outdoor terrain, loading docks, rough asphalt
- Load capacity: 250 to 500 lb per wheel
- Floor protection: good
- Rolling resistance: very low
- Noise: very low
- Durability: 3 to 5 years, puncture risk
- Temperature range: negative 40°F to 160°F (negative 40°C to 71°C)
- Cost: $25 to $50 per wheel
Pneumatic wheels provide the smoothest rolling and best shock absorption. Air cushioning absorbs impacts from rough surfaces, debris and thresholds, and the wheels roll easily over uneven terrain.
Puncture risk is the primary limitation. Sharp debris, metal fragments or damaged concrete edges will puncture them. Indoor smooth surfaces don’t justify the risk or the cost; rough outdoor terrain does.
Steel Wheels
- Best for: high-temperature areas, heavy industrial, extreme loads
- Load capacity: 400 to 1,000 lb per wheel
- Floor protection: poor, marks and damages most floors
- Rolling resistance: medium
- Noise: very high
- Durability: 10 to 15+ years
- Temperature range: negative 40°F to 800+°F (negative 40°C to 427+°C)
- Cost: $20 to $40 per wheel
Steel handles extreme conditions other materials can’t, including high temperatures near furnaces or ovens, extreme capacities, and harsh chemical environments. The material doesn’t degrade, crush or wear quickly.
Floor damage and noise make steel unsuitable for most applications. Use it only when conditions eliminate the alternatives.
Floor Type Matching
Polished concrete: polyurethane first choice, hard plastic acceptable. Never steel, which gouges the surface.
Rough concrete: hard plastic first choice, or pneumatic if you cross thresholds frequently. Polyurethane wears too quickly.
Tile or terrazzo: polyurethane only. Hard plastic may crack tiles under heavy loads.
Epoxy coating: polyurethane only. Other materials damage the coating or leave marks.
Asphalt: pneumatic outdoors, hard plastic in covered areas. Polyurethane degrades from UV.
Uneven or damaged floors: pneumatic first choice for shock absorption, hard plastic acceptable where puncture risk is low.
Match the wheel to your primary operating surface. Operations crossing multiple floor types should choose for the most demanding surface or the most frequently used area. Some facilities maintain separate dolly fleets per area rather than compromise.
Floor Pressure and Damage Prevention
Floor damage occurs through three mechanisms: abrasion, impact and load concentration.
Abrasion results from wheel hardness relative to floor hardness. Harder wheels abrade softer floors. Steel wheels on tile create visible wear tracks within weeks; hard plastic on epoxy gradually abrades the finish.
Always select a wheel material softer than the floor material. The wheel wears instead of the floor. Wheels cost $15 to $50 each and replace easily. Floor repairs cost thousands and disrupt operations.
Impact results from wheel characteristics under dynamic loading. Hard wheels transmit impact forces directly to floors; soft wheels absorb them. A loaded dolly hitting a threshold transmits force to the floor. Steel wheels transmit the most, pneumatic the least, with polyurethane in between. Finished floors crack under repeated impacts from hard wheels.
Load concentration results from contact area. Small contact areas concentrate load, creating high pressure. Large contact areas distribute it.
Pressure (PSI) = Load per wheel (lbf) ÷ Contact area (sq. in.)
Worked comparison for a 1,000 lb dolly on four wheels, 250 lb per wheel:
| Wheel | Contact patch | Floor pressure |
|---|---|---|
| Steel, 1 in. wide by 3 in. dia. | ~1 × 0.4 = 0.4 sq. in. | 250 ÷ 0.4 = <strong>625 PSI</strong> |
| Polyurethane, 2 in. wide by 4 in. dia. | ~2 × 0.8 = 1.6 sq. in. | 250 ÷ 1.6 = <strong>156 PSI</strong> |
The steel wheel creates four times the floor pressure of the polyurethane, because the softer wheel deforms and spreads the load across a larger contact patch. That is the mechanism: the pressure falls because the area grows.
Approximate floor pressure limits:
| Floor | Safe | Damage risk |
|---|---|---|
| Tile | 100 to 150 PSI | 200+ PSI, cracking |
| Polished concrete | 150 to 250 PSI | 300+ PSI, surface spalling |
| Epoxy coating | 80 to 120 PSI | 150+ PSI, coating failure |
| Asphalt | 50 to 100 PSI | 150+ PSI, indentation |
Calculate floor pressure for your application before selecting wheels. Heavy loads require wider wheels to keep pressure acceptable. A 2,000 lb dolly needs 3 to 4 inch wide polyurethane wheels to stay under 150 PSI on tile.
Narrow wheels save money and damage floors. The arithmetic runs against them badly: a wear path 3 to 6 ft wide by 100 to 300 ft long is 400 square feet of floor. At $15 per square foot for tile replacement, that is $6,000 of repair against a $100 saving on the equipment.
Verify floor material and condition before specifying. Damaged or deteriorating floors need more protection than new ones. Older tile may have microcracks, and worn concrete has reduced strength.
Usage Intensity and Grade Requirements
Commercial-grade and industrial-grade don’t differ only in price. They represent different engineering standards for anticipated service life under varying usage intensity.
Usage intensity has three dimensions. Score each and sum:
Daily operating hours: intermittent, under 2 hours (1 point) · light, 2 to 4 hours (2) · moderate, 4 to 6 hours (3) · heavy, 6 to 10 hours (4) · continuous, 10+ hours or multi-shift (5)
Loads per shift: occasional, under 10 (1) · regular, 10 to 30 (2) · frequent, 30 to 60 (3) · high-volume, 60 to 100 (4) · extreme, 100+ (5)
Load weight ratio, typical load divided by dolly capacity: light, under 50% (1) · moderate, 50 to 70% (2) · heavy, 70 to 85% (3) · near-capacity, 85 to 95% (4) · maximum, 95%+ (5)
3 to 6 points, light-duty. Service life 3 to 5 years. Standard materials, basic fasteners, sleeve or simple ball bearings. Retail restocking, office moves, storage areas. $75 to $200.
7 to 10 points, commercial grade. Service life 5 to 8 years. Reinforced materials, quality fasteners, sealed ball bearings. Warehouse operations, light manufacturing. $200 to $500.
11 to 13 points, industrial grade. Service life 10 to 15 years. Heavy-duty materials, Grade 5 or better fasteners, sealed precision or roller bearings. Manufacturing, heavy distribution, production facilities. $500 to $1,500.
14 to 15 points, heavy industrial grade. Service life 15 to 25+ years. Extreme-duty materials, Grade 8 fasteners, welded construction, tapered roller bearings. Steel mills, heavy manufacturing, automotive production. $1,500 to $5,000+.
What the Grade Actually Buys
Frame material thickness: light-duty 14 to 16 gauge steel or 3/16 in. aluminium · commercial 12 to 14 gauge or 1/4 in. · industrial 10 to 12 gauge or 5/16 in. · heavy industrial 3/16 to 1/4 in. plate or 3/8 in. aluminium.
Weld quality: light-duty spot or tack welds · commercial continuous welds on load-bearing joints · industrial full-penetration welds on all joints · heavy industrial multi-pass welds with non-destructive inspection.
Bearing type: light-duty sleeve bearings · commercial shielded ball bearings · industrial sealed precision ball bearings · heavy industrial tapered or spherical roller bearings.
Fastener specification: light-duty Grade 2 with standard nuts · commercial Grade 5 with lock washers · industrial Grade 5 minimum with nylon-insert lock nuts · heavy industrial Grade 8 with nylon-insert lock nuts and safety wire.
These differences matter under sustained use. A commercial-grade dolly rated for 1,000 lb handles occasional 900 lb loads in light service without problems. That same dolly under industrial-duty service, meaning 6+ hours daily, near-capacity loads and 60+ loads per shift, typically degrades or requires replacement within two to three years.
Failure modes differ by grade. Light-duty shows frame bending, wheel bearing failure and fastener loosening. Commercial shows platform sagging, bearing play and paint deterioration. Industrial shows gradual wear requiring maintenance and eventual bearing replacement. Heavy industrial shows minimal wear, occasional bearing service, and decades of life.
Match the grade to actual usage intensity, not best-case scenarios. Operations planning light use routinely discover actual use exceeds estimates. New facilities anticipate light use, then expand. Specify one grade above the minimum calculation to accommodate growth.
Facility Layout and Manoeuvrability
A dolly that doesn’t fit your facility becomes expensive immobile storage regardless of its other specifications. Measure before you evaluate equipment.
Aisle width. Measure your narrowest regular-use aisle at floor level, where the dolly actually travels, not at shoulder height where racks or walls may taper.
Minimum aisle width = Dolly width + 6 in. clearance (3 in. each side)
A 24-inch wide dolly requires a 30-inch minimum aisle. The 6 inch clearance accounts for operator body width, load overhang and minor steering corrections. Tighter clearances work for straight travel but prevent turning.
Turning radius. Turning radius depends on wheel configuration. These are approximate industry guidelines that vary by manufacturer and caster geometry:
| Configuration | Turning radius | Minimum turn space diameter | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-wheel rigid | ~2.5 to 3 × dolly length | 5 to 6 × length | Straight-line travel, long aisles |
| Four-wheel, front swivel | ~1.2 to 1.5 × length | 2.5 to 3 × length | General warehouse use |
| Four-wheel full swivel | ~0.7 to 1 × length, pivots in place | 1.5 to 2 × length | Tight spaces, frequent direction changes |
> Minimum turn space diameter ≈ 2 × (Dolly length + Load overhang) + 12 in.
A 36-inch dolly carrying 48-inch loads needs roughly 180 inches, or 15 feet, of turning diameter with rigid wheels. The same setup with full swivel casters needs closer to 120 inches.
Doorway clearances. Measure actual clear width, accounting for door frames, weather stripping and threshold edges.
Clearance required = Dolly width + Load width + 4 in.
A 30-inch wide dolly carrying 36-inch wide loads needs a 70-inch minimum doorway. Standard commercial doorways at 36 inches don’t accommodate that combination. Plan around narrow doorways with narrower dollies, diagonal load orientation, removing loads for passage, or, as an expensive last resort, modifying the facility.
Threshold and obstacle heights. Wheel diameter determines obstacle-crossing ability:
| Wheel diameter | Maximum obstacle |
|---|---|
| 3 in. | 0.25 in. |
| 4 in. | 0.5 in. |
| 5 in. | 0.75 in. |
| 6 in. | 1 in. |
| 8 in. | 1.5 in. |
A facility with 1-inch threshold transitions needs 6-inch diameter wheels minimum. Smaller wheels require ramps, obstacle removal, or constant lifting over transitions, which defeats the purpose of wheeled equipment.
Elevation changes. Identify ramps, lifts and dock plates used in normal operations, and measure slope, surface material and width. Dollies on ramps need braking mechanisms, handles positioned for uphill pushing, and wheels with sufficient grip. Slopes beyond about 5 degrees create runaway risk, because loads can overpower operator control. Facilities with steep ramps need powered equipment rather than manual dollies.
Multi-floor operations. Freight elevators constrain both dolly dimensions and load capacity. Measure cab interior dimensions, door width and weight capacity. A 4,000 lb elevator capacity might accommodate only a 2,500 lb dolly plus load once operator weight and safety margin are accounted for.
Create a facility layout diagram marking aisle widths at their narrowest points, turning areas with radius measurements, doorways with clearance dimensions, thresholds with heights, ramps with slopes, and elevator dimensions and capacity. That diagram becomes your specification reference. Any dolly exceeding the constraints doesn’t merit further consideration regardless of its other features.
Total Cost of Ownership
Purchase price represents only part of true equipment cost over useful life. Calculate total cost before deciding.
TCO = Purchase price + Maintenance + Downtime + Replacement − Residual value
Maintenance. Annual maintenance includes lubrication (15 to 30 minutes quarterly, minimal cost), bearing inspection and replacement ($50 to $100 annually), wheel replacement ($60 to $160 per set every 3 to 5 years), frame repairs ($0 to $200 annually), and paint or coating touch-up ($20 to $50 every 2 to 3 years).
By grade: light-duty $50 to $100 annually, commercial $75 to $150, industrial $100 to $200.
Downtime. Equipment failures create productivity loss.
Downtime cost = (Labour rate × Workers affected × Hours lost) + Opportunity cost of delayed operations
These two components are additive only when both apply at once, meaning workers idle and a shipment delayed. Counting both when only one occurred doubles the figure.
Worked example: a failed dolly stopping production for 4 hours, with 3 workers idle at $30/hour, plus a $200 delayed shipment penalty:
(3 × $30 × 4) + $200 = $360 + $200 = $560 per incident
Failure frequency. Derive this from the service life and failure bands rather than assuming it. Light-duty equipment sees 2 to 4 failures across a 3 to 5 year life, which is roughly 0.4 to 1.3 failures per year. Commercial sees 1 to 2 across 5 to 8 years, roughly 0.13 to 0.4 per year. Industrial sees 0 to 1 across 10 to 15 years, roughly 0 to 0.1 per year.
Over a five-year window, taking the midpoint of each band:
| Grade | Failures over 5 years | Downtime cost at $560 |
|---|---|---|
| Light-duty | ~4.0 | $2,240 |
| Commercial | ~1.3 | $728 |
| Industrial | ~0.25 | $140 |
Five-Year Total Cost Comparison
Light-duty dolly
- Purchase: $250
- Years 1 to 3 maintenance: $75 × 3 = $225
- Year 3 replacement: $250 (constant dollars)
- Years 4 to 5 maintenance: $75 × 2 = $150
- Downtime, 4.0 failures: $2,240
- 5-year total: $3,115
Commercial dolly
- Purchase: $550
- Years 1 to 5 maintenance: $110 × 5 = $550
- Replacement: $0, since the 8-year life exceeds the period
- Downtime, 1.3 failures: $728
- 5-year total: $1,828
Industrial dolly
- Purchase: $1,100
- Years 1 to 5 maintenance: $150 × 5 = $750
- Replacement: $0, since the 15-year life exceeds the period
- Downtime, 0.25 failures: $140
- 5-year total: $1,990
Commercial grade delivers the lowest five-year cost. Light-duty costs 70 percent more than commercial, because replacement and downtime swamp the lower purchase price. Industrial costs 9 percent more than commercial over five years, and becomes the cheaper option beyond the commercial unit’s replacement.
Break-Even Between Commercial and Industrial
Industrial costs twice as much to buy and less to run. The question is how long you have to keep it before the running cost difference pays back the purchase difference.
Take the annual cost after purchase from the same figures used above:
| Purchase | Maintenance/yr | Downtime/yr | Annual after purchase | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial | $550 | $110 | $145.60 | <strong>$255.60</strong> |
| Industrial | $1,100 | $150 | $28.00 | <strong>$178.00</strong> |
Industrial costs $550 more up front and $77.60 less per year. Set the two totals equal:
$550 + $255.60x = $1,100 + $178.00x
$77.60x = $550
x = 7.1 years
Year 7.1 is a ceiling on the crossover, not the crossover itself. That figure is what running costs alone would do if the commercial unit never had to be replaced. It does have to be replaced, and that second $550 pulls the crossover forward.
The commercial service band is 5 to 8 years, so the honest statement is:
crossover = the earlier of the commercial replacement year and 7.1 years
Work the low end to see why. At a year-5 replacement, the two are running close just before it: commercial sits at $1,828 against industrial’s $1,990, so industrial is still $162 behind. Then the replacement lands, commercial jumps to $2,378, and industrial is $388 ahead in a single step. Replace at year 6 and the same thing happens one year later. Replace at year 7 and the lines have almost met anyway, so the step barely matters. Only if the commercial unit genuinely runs the full 8 years does the running cost gap get there first, at 7.1 years.
That gives you two inputs to check rather than one. The 7.1-year ceiling moves with your maintenance costs and downtime rate, which you can measure. The actual crossover also moves with how long your commercial units really last, which you should be able to read off your own replacement history rather than guess.
Operations planning a 5-year or shorter equipment life should buy commercial, because the crossover cannot arrive before the first replacement. Beyond that it depends on where your commercial units sit in the 5 to 8 year band, and by year 8 industrial is ahead on any reading.
Sensitivity
TCO is dominated by downtime cost, which means it is dominated by what an hour of stopped work costs you. Test that assumption before trusting the result.
At a $75/hour labour rate, downtime per incident rises to (3 × $75 × 4) + $200 = $1,100. Recalculating: light-duty $5,275, commercial $2,530, industrial $2,125. Industrial now wins outright at five years.
Where downtime costs exceed roughly $1,500 per incident, industrial grade is the right answer regardless of the five-year arithmetic, because at that point you are not buying equipment, you are buying the absence of an interruption.
Fleet Sizing
Buying dollies one at a time when the workflow needs a fleet produces shortages, and buying a fleet when you need three produces idle capital. Calculate before procuring.
Fleet size depends on peak demand, cycle time and buffer capacity.
Peak demand. Use your highest-volume operational period, not average daily volume. Document peak period loads moved and peak period duration.
Example: a receiving dock moves 120 loads during a 4-hour morning window, which is 30 loads per hour.
Cycle time. Measure the complete cycle from load pickup through transport, delivery, and return empty to the pickup point.
Example: loading 2 minutes, transport 5 minutes (250 feet at 50 feet/minute), unloading 2 minutes, return 4 minutes empty. Total cycle: 13 minutes, which is 60 ÷ 13 = 4.6 cycles per hour per dolly.
Utilisation. Dollies aren’t productive 100 percent of the time. Account for idle time between loads, maintenance downtime, operator breaks and unexpected delays. Realistic utilisation is 70 to 85 percent of theoretical maximum.
The calculation. Work in loads per hour on both sides, so the units cancel to dollies:
Required dollies = Loads per hour ÷ (Utilisation rate × Cycles per hour per dolly)
Example:
30 loads/hour ÷ (0.75 × 4.6 cycles/hour) = 30 ÷ 3.45 = 8.7, so 9 dollies minimum
Each dolly completes 3.45 effective cycles per hour, so nine dollies deliver 31 loads per hour against the 30 required. The peak period duration doesn’t enter this calculation. It determines how long you need that rate, not how many dollies produce it.
Buffer capacity. Add contingency for maintenance, unexpected peaks and failures: 25 to 30 percent for critical operations where downtime is unacceptable, 15 to 20 percent for important operations where downtime is costly, 10 to 15 percent for standard operations.
Example, important operation: 9 dollies plus 20 percent gives 11 dollies total.
Verify by observation. Start with the calculated quantity, monitor for bottlenecks where operators wait for an available dolly, track utilisation where dollies sit idle, and adjust. Target 95+ percent dolly availability, 60 to 75 percent average utilisation, and 85 to 95 percent peak utilisation.
Multi-application operations. Facilities using dollies for multiple purposes need fleet composition planning rather than a single uniform specification.
Example facility needs: heavy machinery moves at 2,000 lb capacity, 6 dollies; pallet moves at 1,200 lb, 15 dollies; small parts at 500 lb, 20 dollies. Total fleet 41 dollies.
Buying 41 identical 2,000 lb dollies wastes budget, because heavy capacity units cost three to five times small capacity ones:
| Specification | Units | Unit cost | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2,000 lb | 6 | $1,800 | $10,800 |
| 1,200 lb | 15 | $600 | $9,000 |
| 500 lb | 20 | $200 | $4,000 |
| <strong>Matched fleet</strong> | <strong>41</strong> | <strong>$23,800</strong> | |
| Uniform 2,000 lb fleet | 41 | $1,800 | $73,800 |
Matching capacity to requirement saves $50,000, about 68 percent, while meeting every operational requirement.
Regulatory Compliance Requirements
Generic purchasing specifications miss industry-specific requirements mandating particular features, materials or certifications. Verify these before finalising anything.
Food Service and Food Processing
Food equipment in contact with product needs non-porous materials that resist bacterial growth, cleanable design without dirt-collecting crevices, and chemical resistance to sanitising solutions.
NSF/ANSI Standard 2 is the widely used sanitation standard for food equipment design, covering materials, construction and cleanability. Certification to it is not itself a federal requirement. What makes it effectively mandatory in most operations is that health departments, purchasing specifications and the authority having jurisdiction commonly ask for it, and other recognised standards may also be acceptable. Confirm what your own jurisdiction and your own customers require before writing a certification into a specification.
Commonly certified: polypropylene platforms, HDPE platforms, stainless steel frames in Type 304 or 316. Certification belongs to the finished product that was submitted and tested, so ask for the listing rather than accepting the material name.
Usually fails, and why: bare standard steel, which corrodes and harbours bacteria; wood platforms, which absorb liquids; and unsealed or unpolished welds, where crevices harbour bacteria.
Coated steel is the case that gets stated wrongly. Coatings are within the scope of NSF/ANSI 2 rather than excluded from it, and they are evaluated against impact, abrasion, adhesion and heat requirements, with food-zone coatings also meeting the applicable 21 CFR provisions. NSF/ANSI 51 covers food-equipment materials including coatings, and powder and epoxy coatings are certified under it. So a coated unit is not disqualified by being coated. What disqualifies it is arriving without a listing, or carrying a coating that will not survive the abrasion of daily dolly service, since a chip exposes steel that the certification no longer describes. Treat coated steel as certifiable but as requiring both a listing and a coating inspection schedule.
Cost impact: NSF-certified food-safe dollies cost 30 to 60 percent more than standard industrial dollies of equivalent capacity.
Healthcare Facilities
Hospital requirements include chemical resistance to harsh disinfectants, smooth surfaces for complete sanitisation, non-marking wheels protecting finished floors, and quiet operation.
Materials meeting healthcare standards include medical-grade polycarbonate, Type 316 stainless steel, antimicrobial-treated plastics, and polyurethane wheels with non-marking compounds. Additional features worth specifying are antimicrobial coatings, grounding straps preventing static discharge near sensitive equipment, and colour-coding systems preventing cross-contamination.
Pharmaceutical and Clean Room Manufacturing
What ISO 14644-1 does and does not do. ISO 14644-1:2015 classifies air cleanliness by airborne particle concentration. That is its entire scope. It sets the particle count a room must achieve at each class; it does not specify what equipment entering that room must be made of, and it does not say “Class 5 means stainless steel.”
The material specification comes from the other direction. Your cleanroom has a particle limit to hold, so equipment brought into it must not generate particles at a rate that breaks that limit. The tighter the class, the less particle generation the room can absorb, and the more restrictive your equipment specification becomes in practice.
What that typically means for dollies:
- Tighter classes push toward non-shedding wheel materials, sealed bearings that do not release lubricant, smooth cleanable construction, and a defined wipe-down protocol before room entry
- Looser classes tolerate a wider range of standard industrial materials with basic cleaning protocols
Those are consequences of your contamination control programme, not clauses in ISO 14644-1. Set them with your cleanroom qualification and your validation requirements, and where equipment suitability is in scope, look at the ISO 14644 parts that address design, construction and operation rather than the classification part.
Clean room dollies typically cost two to five times standard equivalents because of the specialised materials and construction involved.
Explosive Atmosphere Environments
Facilities handling flammable materials need equipment specified for the classified location, under NFPA 77 for static electricity and NFPA 70 Article 500 in North America, or the ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU in Europe.
Requirements include non-sparking materials, grounding and bonding per NFPA 77 to prevent static discharge, and appropriate classification certification.
The bonding requirement is not optional and not secondary. Standard steel dollies can generate sparks from metal contact. But non-conductive plastics accumulate static charge, and an electrostatic discharge is equally an ignition source. Material choice alone does not make equipment safe in a classified location. Specify against the applicable requirements, including bonding, grounding and static-dissipative materials where those apply.
Cost impact: non-sparking construction and certification adds 50 to 100 percent to equipment cost, and remains mandatory in classified hazardous locations.
OSHA General Industry Requirements
OSHA 29 CFR 1910.176, “Handling materials, general”, covers the conditions around material handling rather than the equipment itself. Its requirements include sufficient safe clearance for aisles, loading docks, doorways and anywhere a turn or passage is made where mechanical handling equipment is used; keeping aisles and passageways clear, in good repair and appropriately marked; storing materials so they are stable and secured against sliding or collapse; and keeping storage areas free of accumulations that create tripping, fire, explosion or pest hazards.
Note what this section does not establish. It is not the source of a capacity-labelling requirement for dollies, an equipment inspection and maintenance programme, or operator training documentation. Operator training obligations for powered industrial trucks sit in a different section, 29 CFR 1910.178, and a manual dolly is not a powered industrial truck in any case.
That does not make capacity labelling or inspection records a bad idea. Permanent capacity marking is standard manufacturer practice, many imported units lack it, and an unmarked dolly is a unit nobody can size a load against. Inspection schedules and maintenance records are how you catch a failure before it happens. Adopt them because they work, and cite the actual source if you need one in a compliance document, whether that is your own written programme, an insurer requirement, or a standard that genuinely covers the equipment.
Automotive Manufacturing
Automotive facilities often require ESD protection per ANSI/ESD S20.20, precise positioning capabilities, high load capacity of 2,000 to 10,000 lb, and integration with automated systems.
ESD protection prevents static discharge damaging electronic components, through static-dissipative wheel materials, grounded frames, conductive platform coatings, and verification testing of surface resistance per ANSI/ESD S7.1.
Laboratory and Research Facilities
Laboratory dollies need chemical resistance to acids, bases and solvents, MR Safe or appropriately MR Conditional equipment for MRI areas, contamination prevention, and vibration damping.
For MRI areas, specify against the FDA labelling rather than against a material list. MR Safe means the item is nonmagnetic, contains no metal and does not conduct electricity. MR Conditional means it may contain metal and is safe only under the stated field strength, gradient and RF conditions. Anything whose status is unknown must be treated as MR Unsafe. That distinction matters commercially, because aluminium is conductive and therefore not automatically MR Safe, while a steel-bearing cart can still be MR Conditional and perfectly usable within its stated limits. In practice this means non-ferrous frames, brass or plastic fasteners and ceramic bearings for MR Safe units, at two to five times standard equipment cost. Where equipment is allowed inside the controlled area is set by your facility’s MR safety programme and the device’s own conditions of use, not by material choice alone.
Verification Checklist
Before finalising a purchase:
- Identify applicable regulations
- Verify required certifications
- Confirm material compatibility, covering food-safe, non-magnetic and non-sparking as applicable
- Check labelling requirements for capacity and safety warnings
- Review inspection and maintenance mandates
- Document operator training requirements
- Verify insurance policy compliance
Non-compliant equipment creates liability exposure, regulatory violations and potential operational shutdowns. The cost difference between compliant and non-compliant equipment becomes irrelevant when non-compliance prevents use entirely.
Grade Comparison Table
| Specification | Light-Duty | Commercial | Industrial | Heavy Industrial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| <strong>Load capacity</strong> | 200 to 500 lb | 500 to 1,500 lb | 1,500 to 5,000 lb | 5,000 to 60,000 lb |
| <strong>Service life</strong> | 3 to 5 years | 5 to 8 years | 10 to 15 years | 15 to 25+ years |
| <strong>Usage intensity</strong> | Under 2 hr daily, under 10 loads/shift | 2 to 6 hr daily, 10 to 60 loads/shift | 6 to 10 hr daily, 60 to 100+ loads/shift | Continuous multi-shift, 100+ loads/shift |
| <strong>Frame material</strong> | 14 to 16 ga steel, 3/16 in. alum. | 12 to 14 ga steel, 1/4 in. alum. | 10 to 12 ga steel, 5/16 in. alum. | 3/16 to 1/4 in. plate, 3/8 in. alum. |
| <strong>Weld quality</strong> | Spot or tack | Continuous | Full-penetration | Multi-pass, inspected |
| <strong>Bearing type</strong> | Sleeve bushings | Shielded ball | Sealed precision | Tapered roller |
| <strong>Wheel options</strong> | Hard plastic basic | Polyurethane or hard plastic | All materials | Heavy-duty all materials |
| <strong>Maintenance cost</strong> | $50 to $100/yr | $75 to $150/yr | $100 to $200/yr | $150 to $300/yr |
| <strong>Failures per life</strong> | 2 to 4 | 1 to 2 | 0 to 1 | Near zero |
| <strong>Purchase price</strong> | $75 to $200 | $200 to $500 | $500 to $1,500 | $1,500 to $5,000+ |
| <strong>5-year TCO (model)</strong> | ~$3,100 | ~$1,800 | ~$2,000 | Application-specific |
| <strong>Best applications</strong> | Retail, light warehouse, intermittent use, smooth floors | General warehouse, manufacturing, regular use, varied floors | Heavy manufacturing, continuous use, demanding conditions | Steel mills, automotive, extreme loads, harsh environments |
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I determine the right load capacity when I handle various load sizes?
Calculate from your heaviest load, not your average. Identify the single heaviest item your operation will ever move, then multiply by 1.25 to 1.30. That 25 to 30 percent buffer accounts for dynamic loading forces during movement, uneven load distribution creating stress concentration, and capacity degradation over equipment lifespan. If your maximum load weighs 1,000 lb, specify 1,250 to 1,300 lb minimum, which means buying the 1,500 lb rated unit, the next standard size up. Never round down or specify from average loads, because undersized equipment forces dangerous overloading, multiple trips, or failure. Document your load spectrum including minimum, typical and maximum weights with percentage distribution.
What wheel type should I choose if my facility has multiple floor types?
Select for your primary operating surface, where the dolly spends 60+ percent of its time, or for your most demanding surface. Polyurethane suits smooth hard floors, providing non-marking properties, low rolling resistance and quiet operation, but wears quickly on rough surfaces and degrades outdoors from UV. Hard plastic handles rough concrete and covered outdoor areas but is noisier, needs more push force, and may mark soft floors. Pneumatic excels on outdoor terrain and rough asphalt with excellent shock absorption, at the cost of puncture risk. Steel tolerates extreme temperatures and the highest capacities but damages most floors and is very loud. If you operate across dramatically different floor types, consider separate fleets per area rather than compromising with a general-purpose wheel. Calculate floor pressure before deciding: tile withstands roughly 100 to 150 PSI safely.
How do I calculate how many dollies my operation needs?
Work in loads per hour throughout, so the units resolve to dollies:
Required dollies = Loads per hour ÷ (Utilisation rate × Cycles per hour per dolly)
First, identify your peak period rate, peak rather than average. Second, measure the complete cycle time from pickup through transport, delivery, unloading and empty return, then convert to cycles per hour as 60 ÷ cycle time. Third, apply a realistic utilisation rate of 70 to 85 percent.
Example: a peak rate of 30 loads per hour, a 13-minute cycle giving 4.6 cycles per hour, and 75 percent utilisation gives 30 ÷ (0.75 × 4.6) = 8.7, so nine dollies. Add buffer capacity: 25 to 30 percent for critical operations, 15 to 20 percent for important, 10 to 15 percent for standard. Then verify through operational testing. Operators waiting for dollies means you are short; idle equipment means you over-bought.
Should I buy commercial grade or industrial grade for my warehouse?
Score your usage intensity on three factors, namely daily operating hours, loads per shift, and load weight as a ratio of capacity, at 1 to 5 points each. Three to six points indicates light-duty, 7 to 10 commercial, 11 to 13 industrial, 14 to 15 heavy industrial.
Then check the arithmetic against your planning horizon. Over five years, a commercial unit at $550 totals roughly $1,800 including maintenance and downtime, against roughly $2,000 for industrial and roughly $3,100 for light-duty. Commercial wins at five years. Industrial costs $550 more up front and about $78 less per year to run, so it closes that gap and overtakes commercial at roughly year 7. Buy commercial for a horizon of about seven years or shorter, industrial for longer. And specify one grade above your minimum calculation, because operations planning light use consistently discover actual use exceeds estimates as facilities expand.
How do I verify a dolly will physically fit before purchasing?
Measure three dimensions first: your narrowest regular-use aisle at floor level, your doorway clear widths including frames and thresholds, and your turning spaces at aisle intersections and dead ends. Aisle width needs dolly width plus 6 inches. Doorways need dolly width plus load width plus 4 inches. Turning space varies by configuration, with rigid wheels needing roughly 5 to 6 times dolly length in diameter, front swivel 2.5 to 3 times, and full swivel 1.5 to 2 times. Measure maximum threshold height too, because wheel diameter sets obstacle-crossing ability: 3-inch wheels handle a quarter-inch obstacle, 6-inch wheels handle an inch.
Then, before committing to fleet quantities, borrow or rent the exact model, load it to typical weight, and test every critical manoeuvre, including the narrowest aisle, 90-degree turns, doorways with loads, and turning around in dead ends. If any manoeuvre fails, the equipment doesn’t fit, whatever the drawing says.
What certifications should I verify before purchasing?
Food service and processing operations generally need non-porous materials such as polypropylene or HDPE platforms and cleanable design without crevices. NSF/ANSI Standard 2 is the usual sanitation standard for food equipment, and certification to it is commonly required by health departments, purchasing specifications or the authority having jurisdiction rather than by a single federal rule. Compliant units cost 30 to 60 percent more.
Healthcare needs chemical resistance to harsh disinfectants, smooth surfaces, non-marking wheels and quiet operation.
Clean room manufacturing works the other way round from how it is often described. ISO 14644-1:2015 sets the air cleanliness class by particle concentration; it does not specify equipment materials. Your particle limit is what drives the equipment specification, typically toward stainless steel construction, sealed bearings and non-shedding wheels at the tighter classes, at two to five times standard cost.
Explosive atmosphere environments under ATEX 2014/34/EU or NEC Article 500 need non-sparking materials, bonding and grounding per NFPA 77, and hazardous location certification, adding 50 to 100 percent.
Automotive manufacturing often requires ESD protection per ANSI/ESD S20.20 with surface resistance verified per ANSI/ESD S7.1. Laboratories and imaging suites may need MR Safe or MR Conditional equipment.
Verify each applicable requirement against its actual source before purchase, because non-compliant equipment creates liability exposure and can stop operations entirely. Verify in both directions: that the requirement applies to you, and that the standard you are citing actually covers the thing you are requiring.
How does total cost of ownership differ from purchase price?
Purchase price is typically a minority of true cost over useful life. Calculate TCO as purchase price, plus lifetime maintenance, plus downtime costs from failures, plus replacement costs over your planning horizon, minus residual value. Maintenance runs $50 to $300 annually depending on grade. Downtime combines labour idle time and opportunity cost of delayed operations, and those two are additive only when both actually occur. Replacement depends on service life against horizon: light-duty needs two to three purchases over 15 years where industrial needs one. Well-maintained industrial equipment retains 10 to 20 percent of purchase price as resale or scrap value.
On a five-year comparison, commercial grade delivers the lowest total. On a ten-year comparison, industrial does. The variable that moves this result most is what an hour of stopped work costs you. Calculate it from your own labour rate and production value, because at high downtime cost the purchase price differences stop mattering.
What’s the difference between swivel and fixed wheels, and which do I need?
Wheel configuration determines turning radius and manoeuvrability, which directly affects whether equipment fits your facility. Four rigid wheels provide the highest load capacity and stability but require wide turns of roughly 5 to 6 times dolly length in diameter, suiting straight-line warehouse aisles. Front swivel with rear rigid, the most common configuration, balances capacity and manoeuvrability, needing roughly 2.5 to 3 times dolly length, and suits general warehouse and mixed-use facilities. Four swivel casters enable the tightest turns including pivoting in place, needing roughly 1.5 to 2 times dolly length, but reduce load capacity by 20 to 30 percent against equivalent rigid wheels because of the mechanical complexity of the swivel assembly.
Match the configuration to your constraints. Tight facilities with 4-foot aisles and frequent turns need full swivel; open warehouses with 8-foot aisles and straight travel can use rigid wheels, which cost less and carry more. Measure your narrowest aisle and tightest turn before selecting, and verify that the reduced capacity of a swivel configuration still meets your load requirement with the proper safety margin.
How do I choose between aluminium and steel frame construction?
Steel frames, at 10 to 14 gauge or 3/16 to 1/4 inch plate, provide the highest strength and load capacity, withstand severe abuse, and cost less initially at $500 to $1,500 for industrial grade. They corrode in moisture, requiring protective coatings (galvanising adds $20 to $30 per dolly, powder coating $30 to $50), and weigh 60 to 90 lb for typical platforms, which creates operator fatigue in frequent-handling applications.
Aluminium frames, at 1/4 to 3/8 inch thickness, weigh 40 to 50 percent less than equivalent steel at 25 to 45 lb per platform, resist corrosion naturally without protective coatings, and suit outdoor or wet environments. They cost 30 to 60 percent more at $650 to $2,400 for industrial grade, require thicker sections for equivalent capacity, and dent more easily under impact.
Choose steel for dry indoor environments, maximum capacity requirements above 3,000 lb, heavy abuse conditions, and budget-constrained purchases. Choose aluminium for outdoor use, wet or corrosive environments, frequent manual handling where weight matters, and food service requiring corrosion-free construction. Stainless steel in Type 304 or 316 combines steel strength with corrosion resistance at three to five times standard steel cost, justified only for food processing, pharmaceutical clean rooms, marine environments and chemical exposure areas.
Should I buy used or refurbished dollies?
Used equipment reduces initial cost 40 to 70 percent against new, with risks that require careful evaluation.
Inspect critical components before purchasing: frame structure for cracks or permanent deformation (measure platform flatness across the surface, since deviation beyond about a quarter inch indicates failure), welds for cracks or separation, wheels and bearings for wear (spin each wheel checking for wobble, grinding or resistance), and fasteners for corrosion or damage (loose fasteners indicate previous overloading or poor maintenance).
Request maintenance records documenting previous use intensity, repairs performed and load capacity testing; equipment lacking documented history carries unknown risk. Calculate remaining useful life. A commercial-grade dolly with an 8-year life, used 4 years, has 3 to 4 years remaining assuming proper maintenance, so a maximum purchase price around 40 to 50 percent of new cost. Paying more than the remaining value percentage eliminates the advantage. Test under actual working loads before purchase: place the maximum intended load, perform a complete transport cycle, and check for flexing, unusual sounds or handling difficulty.
Used equipment suits non-critical applications, temporary needs under two years, and budget-constrained operations accepting higher failure risk. New equipment is justified for critical operations, long-term requirements of 5+ years, warranty and support needs, and documented compliance requirements. Refurbished equipment from reputable dealers costs 60 to 80 percent of new and includes inspection, repairs and limited warranty. Verify the refurbisher’s reputation, warranty terms of at least 90 days, and load testing documentation before purchase.
A note on the figures in this guide
The cost models, fleet calculations and break-even timelines here are worked illustrations built from stated inputs: $30 hourly labour, the equipment prices shown, and failure rates derived from the service life bands in the grade table rather than assumed independently. Substitute your own figures; the structure of the calculation matters more than these numbers.
Capacity ranges, wheel specifications, floor pressure limits, dimensional guidelines and material properties are typical published ranges for the equipment classes named, and vary by manufacturer. Turning radius figures in particular vary with caster offset and wheelbase geometry. Where a figure will set a purchase specification or a safety margin, confirm it against the manufacturer’s published data for the actual product.
Standards and regulations referenced in this guide are cited for the scope each one actually covers, and that scope is narrower than it is often assumed to be:
- NSF/ANSI Standard 2 covers food equipment sanitation design. It is a standard, not a federal mandate; what makes certification necessary is usually your jurisdiction or your customer.
- ISO 14644-1:2015 classifies air cleanliness by airborne particle concentration. It does not specify equipment materials or construction for any class.
- OSHA 29 CFR 1910.176 covers handling materials generally: clearances, aisle and passageway condition and marking, secure storage and housekeeping. It does not establish equipment capacity labelling, inspection programmes or operator training documentation.
- NFPA 77 covers static electricity, NFPA 70 Article 500 covers hazardous location classification in North America, and ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU covers the equivalent European requirements.
- ANSI/ESD S20.20 covers ESD control programmes, with ANSI/ESD S7.1 covering floor material resistance measurement.
Confirm the current edition and the specific clause with the publishing body before writing any of them into a purchase specification. A correctly formatted citation to a real standard tells you nothing if that standard does not cover the requirement you are attaching to it.